Games 4-7

scourge_by_ameeeeba-d9ugr43

jax

Skipped a week due to bit of a family emergency. Back on track this week. Managed to play 5 games with the Deci. This week I swapped out Soontir for Carnor Jax. I thought he would better help me in my bad match up’s.

Game #4 vs Jai – Win

Jai Ran:

  1. A-Wing – Green Squadron Pilot, Test Pilot, Chardaan Refit, Push the Limit, Autothrusters
  2. E-Wing – Corran Horn, R2-D2, Fire Control System, Push the Limit, Engine Upgrade
  3. A-Wing – Jake Farrell, A-Wing Test Pilot, Chardaan Refit, Push the Limit, Auto Thrusters, Predator

Had a really close game here. Took our his Corran pretty early. He managed to come back and do a lot of damage to the Deci. I was going to throw in the towel, but rest of the guys urged me on. I used my last hull point on the Deci to Vader one of his ships, then had some intense dog fighting with my one remaining ship. At the end I had one hull point left on Jax.

Game #5 vs Jai – Win

So with everyone else still in their games we decided to play again. I changed up asteroid placement and moved them out around the board. I’ve been using the biggest asteroids to try and combat the triple jumpmaster list.

The asteroids were a boon to me in this game as the enemy ships kept landing on them. It was a pretty one sided match with me only taking 1 damage on the deci and 1 on jax. Jax’s pilot ability really helped in this match up.

Game #5 vs Ronan – Loss

  1. T-70 X-Wing – Poe Dameron, Push the Limit, BB-8, Weapons Guidance, Integrated Astromech
  2. B-Wing – Nera Dantels, Dead Eye, Guidance Chips, Extra Munitions, Proton Torpedoes, Advance Sensors
  3. T-70 X-Wing – Red Squadron Pilot

Last game of the night at my FLGS was against young Ronan. He managed to block Jax with his Red Squadron ship which was goodnight for Jax. Came back pretty well, was down to Poe Vs the Deci. Poe just edged it out to win.

Game #6-7 vs Tyrone – Loss

Went Tyrone’s place to get some extra games in. He normally prefers swarms which are my bad match up.

  1. Tie Fighter – Black Squadron Pilot, Crack Shot
  2. Tie Fighter – Black Squadron Pilot, Crack Shot
  3. Tie Fighter – Black Squadron Pilot, Crack Shot
  4. Tie Fighter – Black Squadron Pilot, Crack Shot
  5. Tie Fighter – Howlrunner, Push the Limit, Engine Upgrade
  6. Tie Fighter F/O – Epsilon Squadron Pilot

So first game I managed to fly really awesomely and fly off the table by a tiny tiny fraction of my base. Tyrone was happy to play on but I aim to play how I’d play in a tournament and took the loss. I was also way too aggressive in this match-up.

Second game I did better and managed to take out about 2 of his 6 ships. I had a particularity nasty round when he did about 6 damage to my Decimator.

Lessons Learnt: Stay the hell away from swarms. Best plan is to keep at 3 from them and try to mitigate the damage via my 1 evade dice.

I did play one more match against Tyrone with a Palp Aces list. Shuttle Palp, Soontir and Inquisitor. He conceded after a long game. I had wiped out half of his Swarm and he hadn’t done much to my list. I think I might move to this list after my 100 Decimator Games.

Leave a comment